Uploaded image for project: 'Dev - Nexus Repo'
  1. Dev - Nexus Repo
  2. NEXUS-8735

Edits made to a task after creation do not take

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Priority: Critical
    • Resolution: Duplicate
    • Affects Version/s: 3.0.0-m4, 3.0.0-m5
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Rapture, Scheduled Tasks, UI
    • Labels:
      None
    • Environment:
      Chrome, Firefox MacOSX

      Description

      Testing NEXUS-8528, I created a task and saved. Later I went back and filled in the non-required fields and clicked run. What I did not know (but found out with Tamás Cservenák) is that if you do this and don't save, the task runs without the changes you made to the task.
      I think this is potentially very confusing (as evidenced by me) and could be improved.
      Tamás Cservenák suggested we warn, similar to we do when we're navigating away from a page without saving. In this instance you could give an additional option (or change the second option) to "Run Task".

      Changes made to tasks after creation (editing tasks) seem to revert. Previous analysis had me believe that I had forgotten to save, however, on further NEXUS-8528 testing, I am 100% sure I was saving.

      The easiest way to see the behavior seems to be with the Purge Timeline task. Create one with required fields and save. Edit and enter notification email (not required) and save and then run the task. The notifcation email disappears.
      For Rebuild Maven Metadata, the data seems to be consistantly not saving but rarely does it disappear right after running. It seems normally you have to click refresh at the top of the page. Sometimes this does not seem to reveal the reversion right after save but if you do it from the Tasks list or go to the list and back to details it shows. Sometimes refresh does nothing til after you run the task as well (sometimes it does).
      Purge Timeline task seems much more reliable as far as a reproducable case. If on analysis they're seperate issues or you'd like more details about the cases for Rebuild Maven Metadata let me know.

      This does not seem to be an issue so far if you enter all the optional fields on initial get go. This is a workaround sort of, since the next time you need to edit (unless you delete the task and start over or don't) you will hit this.

      I didn't check older NX3 versions at this time.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              Assignee:
              Unassigned
              Reporter:
              jtom Joe Tom
              Last Updated By:
              Peter Lynch
              Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              1 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved:
                Date of First Response:

                  tigCommentSecurity.panel-title